Home

Working from ones home has many advantages.   I’ve been a work from my home entrepreneur for years, so I can speak from experience of both the pros and the cons of it.  Flexibility of schedule is the best!  I put in many hours per week, but I can elect to work by day or by night.  I can take the day off…any day, if I’m caught up. I don’t have to have a closet full of career clothing.  I can work in lounging clothes, and I can sans the make-up, if I so choose.  Fuel cost is not so much an issue, because I am not driving to work every day.

All these things are great, but being at home all day can make you feel isolated.  This can lead to mild depression.  Some of the ways that I have found to deal with this feeling of isolation, might also help you:

  • Get out of the house!  Go outdoors and eat your lunch or snacks, instead of sitting at your desk.  That brief change of scenery can improve your mood, and give your brain a rest.  Plus, you won’t have all of those crumbs in your computer.
  • Take a walk around your neighborhood.  Not only is this good for your physical well-being, but you can stop and say hello to another human being.
  • Phone a friend.  Be selective about who you call.  Make sure they are a positive,  upbeat person that you can laugh and have meaningful conversation with, else you will be upset when you get off the phone.  This would defeat the purpose of the call.
  • Have lunch with someone.  Make regular lunch appointments to get you out of the house, and around other people.
  • Join your local Chamber of Commerce, BNI, or civic organization.  The interaction with other business people keeps you on your toes.  Being active in these groups gives you a chance to give back to the community as well.
  • Get involved in Social Networking Web sites like Twitter, Linkedn, Naymz, Facebook, and many others, allow you the opportunity to meet people from all over the world, and connect professionally.  You will build a network of people who will help you grow your business, and connect to those you need to meet.  I needed some vendor recommendations for the D.C. and Roanoke areas.  I posted it on Twitter, and within seconds had references for both markets!  Warning:  These sites can be addictive, so set your alarm so that you won’t let them rob your valuable work and family time.  One person on Twitter said that she was un-following Twitter in order to follow her family.

The next time you are feeling a little blue, try one or two of these suggestions and see if you don’t feel more motivated to get the job done.

4 thoughts on “How to Avoid Work-at-Home Isolation

  1. These ideas are right on! I’ve decided to take a summer break from my part-time day job (at an office) and concentrate on my work at home. Although I’m glad for the respite, I’ve been concerned about the isolation factor. I’m going to follow your tips and make sure I get outside and meet up with someone every day. Good for me, good for my business, and, most of all, a mental health boost that can’t be beat!

  2. Good advice as usual, Pam. Keeping in touch with “the outside world” is critical to maintain a balanced approach to your business. It is easy to forget that not everybody can work at midnight and be “closed” between the hours of 8 and 11 (to take the Grandbabies to a doctor’s appt). So, we “work at home” entrepreneurs have to keep tabs on our time and our mind. Thanks for the tips.

  3. It’s so easy to get locked onto your computer and end up spending the whole day there without realizing it. I have been guilty but I realize that in order for me to renew my mind and my spirit, I must get up and move and mingle on the outside.

    Working part-time helps me do that as well as social networking face-to-face.

  4. Working from home does have many advantages but the disadvantages sometimes take priority. Its hard to work sometimes when there are tons of life distractions going on constantly.
    Tracy

Leave a Reply

