Home

I was reading a popular blog post about vaginal dryness.   A common ailment in menopausal and post menopausal women, the writer of the blog was emphasizing how some body washes and personal care products can exacerbate the problem.  Reading the blog reminded me of a personal experience, which might be helpful to you, whether or not you are in this particular age group.

I have been one of the lucky ones, because I haven’t had problems with this, but Vitamin E cream does help significantly, without all the mess of the “his” and “hers”  jellies, jams, or whatever you prefer to call these annoying sex aids.  What I was having trouble with was a bladder infection that lasted three years!

My doctors tried every kind of antibiotic to clear up this infection, but it would not go away.  Quite by accident, I found that a certain body wash I was using was causing the chronic condition.  I won’t name it here,but if you private message me, I will be happy to tell you.

It was at a women’s expo that I discovered Thistle Ridge Soap.  The soaps, lotions, and moisturizing oils, are made from natural ingredients and essential oils.  The scents alone sold me on several bars.  Amazingly, when I switched to these natural soaps my infection went away! 

To satisfy my own curiosity, I started using another body wash and guess what?  The bladder infection returned.  Lesson learned, I now use only these wonderfully fragrant, and long-lasting soaps.  They have made my Favorite Things list for two years in a row and I want to let you in on the secret.  All of the products are inexpensive, with the soaps being only $5.00 each.  A single bar will last more than 6 months, particularly if you use the wooden soap rack they sell.  Sometimes I find myself fudging a little and order a new bar or fragrance, just for variety.  Here are a few of the indulgent choices.  Click on image to purchase item:

My personal favorite bath bar is the Lavender.  It’s made with essential oils, plus it is calming and relaxing.  I alwasy use it when showering, after a workout.

thistleridgelavendersoap1

 Another favorite is T-Tree Therapy.  It balances the ph of your skin and the tea tree oil is soothing and fragrant.

thistleridgettreetherapy

The Loofah Scrubs are luxurious.  They are rounds of soap that are poured into a loofah.  They contain pumice grounds and come in several fragrances, but Citrus is my favorite.  Meant for calloused heels and elbows, I sometimes use them for a general body scrub.

thistleridgeloofahscrub

For the man in your life, I recommend the Woodlands, Woodstock, or Mechanics Soap.  My husband asked where I bought the mechanics soap

and asked for more!  That has never happened!  the Mechanics is pictured.

thistleridgemechanicsmagicsoap

For a soap bar that will neutralize odors, such as onions, when cooking, purchase this Coffee bar.  It leaves hands scent free and has milk in it, so it also softens and restores moisture

thistleridgecoffeesoapYou simply must have the $3.00 wooden soap rack.  Regardless of what kind of soap you use, it will lengthen the life of it.

thistleridgewoodensoapdish

For those aches and pains, you need one of their Feeling Better bags.  These herbal therapy bags relieve headaches, insomnia, and aid in relaxation.  Just pop it into the microwave and melt under it’s spell.

thistleridgefeelingbetterbaglavender

I do hope that you will give these products a try.  You will be so glad that you did.  Please post back to this telling me which one of these is your favorite.

One thing is for sure.  Be very cautious about the body washes and soaps that contain irritating ingredients, or you might have an ongoing bladder infection, and that isn’t fun.    By process of elimination (pardon me, lol) I found the ones that work for me.

For more information on dealing with menopausal issues, visit Enjoy Your Menopause.

9 thoughts on “Body Washes Can Cause Bladder Infections In Women

  1. I read your post and those soaps do look great, but they are out of my current budget. I have discovered similar natural soaps with many different infused scents including honey, thyme, sage leaves, chamomile (my favorite), seaweed and many others. The best part is they are less that $2 for a 4.5 ounce bars and for large bath sized 7oz ones less than $3. Take a peek at the Natural Bath & Body Shop and you will also discover a large selection of natural sea sponges and loofah products…they have wood soap dishes there as well.

  2. Pam,
    Thanks for the info on this amazing set of products. I’ve followed your suggestions before and have never been disappointed. You really know your stuff.
    As far as infections, etc. go, I’ve long thought that marketers try to embarrass and shame women into thinking that their bodies’ natural state of being is somehow unclean. What a pile of garbage that is! So, I’m all for products that are natural, safe, replenishing and just what our bodies really need.

  3. Pam,

    Since entering menopause, I have learned so much about my body and different reactions. This information you have shared is another example of how we need to be educated about our bodies so we will understand what is happening and why.

  4. Thanks for the info, Pam. I love scented soaps and I am almost fanatical about only using all natural products so these sound perfect for me. I am especially excited to learn about the men’s products. My husband has terribly dry and itchy skin in the winter but is reluctant to use anything scented. He says even the men’s scented products are too overpowering. I am going to get some of the Mechanics soap. I’ll tell him Pam’s husband recommends it!

  5. Pam
    That was very informative. I had no idea that someting like soap could be connected to a bladder infection, let alone dryness. I will pass this information on to my friends. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Is it every body wash uve used or just one? Because ive been using my boyfriends body wash and havent had any signs of a bladder infection, and right as i started using my candy apple body wash again I started getting the first signs of one. So im just going to use his from now on.

Leave a Reply

