Home

We all make them.  Resolutions to get fit, become more fit, or to excel at getting fit and healthy.  We join a gym, and are going gung ho until March 1st, then we fizzle.  “What’s the secret?”, we ask ourselves, as we observe those who do stick with their fitness regiments year after year.

It’s no secret at all.  It’s a simple truth that is often hard for us to hear.  The truth is commitment.  Commitment to taking care of one’s body. 

The committed don’t have more time than we do, we all have the same twenty-four hours to get things done.  The difference is priorities.

Only 10 minutes of some type of physical activity, three times per day, will improve your fitness level and your health.  You don’t have to go to a gym to accomplish that.  You can accumulate thirty minutes while at work.

In the morning, take a 10-minute break to walk down the hall and back a few times, down and up some flights of stairs, (or up and down a single step, facing it) or outside for a 10-minute walk. 

Mid-afternoon, take 10 minutes to do push-ups, against the wall, or on the floor.  Do squats, lunges, basically any muscle strengthening work.  Allow time to stretch each muscle group that you worked.  Take five deep, cleansing breaths before returning to your work.

In the evening, before you go to bed, make it a habit to do 10-minutes of stretching.  Stretching will relieve tension from your body, improve your circulation, and improve your flexibility.  You will find that you get a better night’s sleep as a bonus.

I recently purchased a Yoga video “AM and PM Yoga” from Collage VideoI use it several times per week to stretch.  It will help you concentrate on your breathing, which improves oxygen flow to your brain, and with proper stretching techniques.

Now, is this so hard to do?  If you think you can’t find three, 10-minute segments, then may I sweetly and kindly suggest to take a break from Twitter, blogs, Facebook, My Space, LinkedIn, and all the other networks to which we are addicted.  You will find that you will accomplish more, and improve your health, by being just a little more regimented and “committed”.

I will have to join the ranks of the committed this year, because I have retired from teaching classes.  I am still educating the public about issues relating to current research, exercise trends, and anything else relative to the industry.  I am still certifying instructors for AFAA, so I am in no way down for the count.  It will be more of a challenge for me to get to the gym, without a schedule to have to keep there.  I workout at home, but am happier in a group fitness situation.  I need the accountability, how about you?

Here’s to your happy and more fit New Year!

I invite you to visit my other blogs:

www.idoweddings.wordpress.com

www.homespunhighlights.wordpress.com

Join me on Facebook – Pamela Archer

Join me on My Space – everlovinflowers

11 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions for Fitness

  1. I hope you don’t mind if I put you on my blog, Chair Tai Chi as This Week’s Featured Blog. Your blog is great and very helpful for anyone of any age.

    Thanks for a great blog.

    Cynthia Quarta

  2. I don’t mind at all, as long as you give me credit and link back to my site. Thank you so much! Have a blessed New Year. I’m headed toyour blog now.

  3. Pam,

    I have given up the quest to “lose so many pounds by a certain time.” I’m exercising to LIVE and be healthy and I clearly understand what it will mean for me if I don’t. I’m counting on you to keep me in check 🙂

  4. Dear Pam,

    Thanks for the pep talk (or should I say “pep post?”). I really need it. Usually, I’m good about exercising at least 3 or 4 times a week but, with the holidays and an after Christmas cold, I haven’t done a thing.
    I’m taking your suggestions to heart and getting back to my routine. Hooray for resolutions–especially if you keep them!

  5. Hi Pam,

    I’m one of those uncommitted to exercise people. But I am striving to live a healthier life. I park farther from the building to walk extra steps, I always walk my carts back to the store, take the stairs, have water with my meals, etc. I’m hoping these little steps will help overall.

    Thank you for your words of encouragement! You’re awesome!

    Blessings,

    Betty

  6. Hi Pam,
    10 minutes of exercise daily is a small price to pay to feel better, especially as a business owner. Your nudge is a welcome reminder that exercise is valuable event in small increments. I’m starting tomorrow and look forward to mutual accountability!! THANKS for the push and the partnership.

  7. I can’t commit to 30 minutes at one time.

    But I CAN do 10 minutes. And if I do it 2 or 3 times — well, there I am!

    Thanks!

  8. Great advice. When you’re overwhelmed with projects it seems impossible to take a 30 minute break – even though you know you’ll feel so much better if you do. But, the idea of committing to 10 minutes at a time makes it so much easier.

  9. Great inspiring post…the things suggested aren’t hard, it just a matter of getting up and doing them! What is it about us that finds it hard sometimes to just do that? I know I sit at the computer a lot during the day, and do make it a point of getting up and doing something very regularly during the day…not so much in the evening…I get tired of just sitting:-)

    Happy New Year!

  10. Pingback: Exercise #44 - General Taking Off His Boots « Chair Tai Chi

Leave a Reply

