Home

I can tolerate cooking, but I love to bake!  Cakes are my specialty, and it’s usually a specialty cake that I bake.  I have baked a couple of cakes the past few days that have gotten rave reviews, and requests for the recipes, so I thought I would share them with you. 

They are both super easy, and deliciously tasty.  I hope that you enjoy them:

Pam’s Chocolate Mousse Cake

Cake:

(1) Duncan Hines Devils Food Cake mix

Make the cake according to the directions on the package.

Filling:

12 oz. pkg of semi-sweet chocolate morsels

1 1/2 cups whipping cream

Put morsels and whipping cream in a small sauce pan.  Melt over Medium-high heat about 10 minutes, or until smooth.  Chill in the fridge for 1 1/2 hours or longer. 

Remove from fridge and whip with an electric mixer until the consistency of a mousse.  Spread between cake layers.

Frosting:

1 1/2 cups sugar

Dash of salt

1 Tablespoon light corn syrup

2 egg whites (at room temperature)

1/3 cup cold water

1 teaspoon vanilla

Combine sugar, egg whites, corn syrup, and salt in top of a large double boiler; add cold water and beat on low speed of electric mixer for 30 seconds, or just until blended.

Place over boiling water; beat constantly on high speed about 7 minutes, or until stiff peaks form.  Remove from heat.  Add vanilla; beat an additional two minutes or until frosting is thick enough to spread.

Note, I use two mixes and 9″ pans, to make a taller cake, but the 1 mix and 8′ pans work fine, too.

Coconut-Pineapple Cake

Cake:

(1) Duncan Hines Classic Cake mix

Bake cake according to package directions.

Pineapple Filling:

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/8 teaspoon of salt

1 (20 oz.) can, crushed pineapple, undrained

1 tablespoons butter or margarine

Combine flour, sugar, and salt in a small saucepan; add pineapple and butter.  Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until thickened. 

Spread between layers. (Note there will be excess, because this recipe is intended for a three layer cake.  However, I heat it and use it for ice-cream topping.)

Frosting:

I use the same frosting as for the Chocolate Cake, because it is my favorite. 

Add coconut.

Have a merry, merry Christmas everybody!

Join me on Twitter and Facebook – pamela archer

I invite you to visit my other blog sites, and let me know you stopped by:

http://www.homespunhighlights.wordpress.com

http://www.idoweddings.wordpress.com

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cakes

  1. Wow! Is my mouth watering! Since I’m a choco-holic, the chocolate mousse cake looks especially delicious.
    Since it’s the holidays, I’m sure there aren’t any calories. Right?!

  2. I can’t even tolerate baking. I just never really learned how to bake. My mom wasn’t real good at it and my dad baked from scratch but I never paid attention. The good thing is it keeps desserts out of our house unless a friend brings something by.

Leave a Reply

