Home

Beverly Mahone wrote a recent post on the perils of menopause.  I can totally relate to the weight gain, hot flashes, increasing waistline, and to the sweating, bloating, anxiety, and all of the other symptoms of mid-life.  I laughed at her comments about metabolism slowing down, and the need to sweat like a pig and eat like a bird.  After reading her post, I turned my thoughts to thinking about the positives of going through menopause.  Here are my top five things I love about menopause:

No more menstruation, period!  One of the greatest advantages of this, is that I no longer have to walk around with a wad of cotton between my legs, or stuffed up my insides.  Of course, that Depends!  (incontinence could ensue)

I get to eat like a bird.   Sweet Bev, don’t you realize that birds eat constantly?  When do you ever see a bird that it isn’t eating?  Instead of three meals and two snacks per day, I can eat all day long if I want, then sleep in my feathery nest at night.  Can’t beat that!

I don’t have to shave as often.  Our hair on our legs and underarms doesn’t grow as fast.  I don’t have to shave them but a couple of times per week now.  I used to have to shave every other day.  I am one of the fortunate ones not to have grown facial hair post menopause.  Although, I colored my hair a little darker a couple of years ago.  I didn’t pay any attention to the fact that it dripped down the sides of my cheeks.  I woke up the next morning, looked in the mirror, and saw Wolfman Jack.

I don’t have to buy a coat.  Thanks to the hot flashes, and overall warmer nature, I can ride in a convertible in January, and go Christmas shopping without having to drag a heavy coat around.  I can go sleeveless year round.

I could cure meat in my house.  If I really wanted to make some money, I could hang meat in my house.  Due to the thermostat maintaining a constant temperature of 55 degress, the hams and I could cohabit rather nicely.

See there, Beverly.  There is always a silver lining to every cloud.  You just have to look on the brighter side of things.  You will be happier, and you won’t remember if you were miserable yesterday anyway.

To read Beverly’s post, click here http://www.fiftyandfurthermore.com/web/module/article/rid/2/aid/19/id/641/interior.asp

8 thoughts on “Top Five Advantages of Menopause

  1. Since I had my first hot flash just last week (!), I am taking a keen interest in what you have to say here, Pam. I wasn’t aware of some of this stuff, like hair growing more slowly. I must admit, I dread the idea of growing facial hair, and am glad you haven’t had to experience that.

  2. Oh, how funny! Curing meat, lol!

    I have experienced that I don’t seem quite as hairy lately and my appetite has dropped considerably – though that could be just because I’m working almost around the clock!

    I have also walked out when it’s snowing without any warm clothes and basked in the cool air thanks to those hot flashes!

    But the best part is the first part – no more periods!

  3. Bev,

    You are so articulate! I love reading your posts about menopause. So when is “Whatever ~ The Musical” coming to broadway?

    Hugs,

    Heidi Richards Mooney, Publisher
    WE Magazine for Women

  4. Hey Pam–
    I love your top five positive things about menopause. I happen to think, once you get past the hormonal roller coaster, there’s real freedom. Period!
    When we were sharing with Pop Art Diva and I mentioned rolling up my skirt in Jr. High, I no longer need to do that. Now, I just roll over the waistband and keep on rolling all the way up to my foundation garment. Actually, these days, that’s not too far up anyway!

Leave a Reply

