Home

Being the mother to three children has been the greatest accomplishment of my life.  I was a stay-at-home mom throughout their growing years.  I contributed to the family income by making and selling various craft and clothing items, and teaching preschool music.   Even as a single parent, I was able to be at home with them.  This was a priority for me, and I felt very blessed to be able to do that.  I poured my heart and life into these daughters, so when they started to leave home, to go to college, I felt that they were prepared to live independently, as responsible adults.  But what about me?  What would I do to feel fulfilled? 

When the youngest was a pre-teen, I started teaching group fitness classes.  This quickly and steadily grew into a career.  One year after teaching my first class, I was the aerobic director for a fitness facility.  Shortly after Archer Fitness Consultants, Inc. was born.  In my twenty year fitness career, I have trained and certified instructors in thirty-six states, Canada, and Puerto Rico.  I’ve had the privilege to be a World Fitness Presenter, work for Jenny Craig, Int’l doing a national TV show, and starred in seven exercise videos. 

As time marched across my face and body, I began thinking about what I would do in the next stage of my life.  I didn’t plan to have two businesses, it just happened.  A hobby turned into Pamela’s Exclusive Floral & Event Design.  Both business ventures are still growing strong, plus I’ve added to them with being a columnist for our local newspaper, blogging, and now authoring a book.  I’m very involved in my church, and have just assumed the position of leading our Women’s Ministry Team.

The point I am trying to make is that life is as exciting and fulfilling as you make it!  I could have walked the halls of my house and mourned the fact that I no longer had children at home, but I chose to celebrate their independence.  I chose to enjoy the benefits of them becoming young women, because now they are my dear friends and confidantes.

The way that you deal with empty nest will depend on the value you place on your own life.  I felt that my time had arrived to pursue my interests.  I started a career at age thirty-eight.  I have been able to reach all of my goals and dreams to date.   I will never wonder ‘what if’, because I will I will continue to reach for the stars and never look back.   For me, empty nest was just the beginning!

For articles I’ve written on health and fitness, please click http://www.buzz.prevention.com/community

4 thoughts on “Empty Nest Is Just The Beginning

  1. I agree that being empty nest person is a new beginning. What I like best is that this time around we are so relaxed and confident about who we are and what we can offer, to employers, to volunteer organizations and to our families. I am on week 2 of being an empty nester and I am so excited about the possibilites that are ahead!

  2. Pam,

    I wish I had had the luxury of being a stay at home mom when my daughter was small. I often wonder how differently things would’ve turned out. My mother was at stay-at-home mom and I thought it was cool to have her home when I got home from school. I didn’t know anything else.

    Although my daughter is off to college, I am not really an empty nester yet but I feel freer to do more things than I did while struggling between working a full-time job, checking homework, dealing with a dead beat husband, etc, etc.

  3. Beverly,

    Even though I was a stay-at-home mom, I was also a work from your home mom. I’ve never had the luxury of choosing to work or not…I had to work as well. I sewed childrens clothing, orginal design clowns, and other of my creations to gift shops and boutiques. The name of my business was Creations for Children. When I was a single mom, Idid the same thing. It was hard, but we made it through. We do what we have to do, don’t we?

  4. I was a stay-at-home mom, yet I worked part-time on nights and weekends. Being at home when the kids got off the bus is something I would never trade. Being at home when they came home from college on their breaks is also something I treasure. But after they became full fledged adults, it was MY turn. And that I will never trade and will always treasure…

Leave a Reply

