Home

Just when I think that I’ve heard it all…I hear something totally outrageous! 

Tonight I attended a networking for wedding professionals.  That’s what I do in my other life, wedding and event design.  (If you are interested, you can comment on this post and I will e-mail you the web site address)  Anyway, I was hurrying through the hor d’ ourves so that I could make my way to the dessert table, which I was sure would contain some form of chocolate.

I asked the lady sitting beside me if she was going to have some dessert and she replied, “No, I gave up chocolate for my health.”  I drew back in shock!  Was she kidding?  I informed her that chocolate is good for you, at least dark chocolate is. 

Many research studies have concluded that 3 oz. of dark chocolate each day is full of antioxidants.  Chocolate improves mood, too.  Hmmf! I didn’t need any research study to tell me that chocolate is good for you.  If these people would just learn to listen to me!

I told them for years that the food guide pyramid is garbage.  So, it came under attack in recent years.  The next change will be that they turn it upside down so that the fats category is the largest part of the chart.

I’m just kidding about that, but only partly.  Another study done by the Women’s Health Initiative studied over 40,000 women for eight years.  Some ate a low fat diet and others did not.  Interestingly enough, the higher fat group showed no greater occurance of breast cancer or heart disease than the low fat group.

What does this say to us?  Eating healthy is still the best way to go, but to make a science out of it is absurd.  Some fitness experts are way into eating foods that take more calories to digest than were in them to start with, resulting in weight loss or weight maintenance.

I just don’t believe that God intended for nutrition to be so difficult.  He created plants and animals and told us to eat of both.  The only thing He warned about was eating from the tree of good and evil.  I believe that the good should include chocolate and that the evil is all the confusing and conflicting theories out there that make it nearly impossible to know what is and is not good for us.

I’m a firm believer that the 7 nutrients essential for life are ice-cream, chocolate, pizza, peanut butter, cake, milk (shakes), and water.  Your opinion might differ from mine, but mine is a lot more tasty!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Crisis

  1. You’re right, Pam. Food is wonderful. God gave us tastebuds for a reason! Just as with everything else in life–moderation IS the key!

Leave a Reply

